MSN Movies Blog

Let the awards season begin: the New York Film Critics Circle announces its winners

'Zero Dark Thirty' and 'Lincoln' are the favorites among East Coast critics

By DannyMiller Dec 3, 2012 3:05PM

The New York Film Critics Circle is the first major group to weigh in on the best films and performances of 2012. Instead of announcing the entire slate of winners all at once, the east coast critics deliberated over each category and provided the names of the winners piecemeal. The NYFCC has a somewhat spotty record of predicting the Oscar race but clearly some of their picks will go on to sweep many other awards. Daniel Day-Lewis will definitely need to purchase a bigger home for all the Best Actor honors he is going to pick up for “Lincoln,” and I’d be shocked if Tony Kushner wasn’t equally recognized for the screenplay for that film. I’d also encourage Sally Field to start dusting off a shelf for her third Oscar. But Rachel Weisz’s Best Actress win for “The Deep Blue Sea”? That seems like a real surprise and may cause Oscar voters to sit up and take notice. And will the Best Picture winner, “Zero Dark Thirty,” and its Best Director, Kathryn Bigelow, pick up a lot of awards steam more than two weeks before the film is even released? Probably so. No New York love for “Argo,” “Les Misérables” and many other films that have received a lot of award speculation.


Here’s a list of the NYCFF winners:


Best Picture: “Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Screenplay: Tony Kushner, “Lincoln”

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis, “Lincoln”

Best Actress: Rachel Weisz, “The Deep Blue Sea”

Best Foreign Language Film: “Amour”

Best Animated Film: “Frankenweenie”

Best Supporting Actor: Matthew McConaughey, “Bernie” and “Magic Mike”

Best Supporting Actress: Sally Field, “Lincoln”

Best Cinematography: Greig Fraser, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Nonfiction Film: “The Central Park Five”

Best First Feature: David France, “How to Survive a Plague”

The New York Film Critics Circle will present the awards at its annual ceremony on January 7, 2013. 

showtimes & tickets
Search by location, title, or genre: